Danny Wright Interview

📸: @Raquia.takes.photos

Self proclaimed pop rock singer/songwriter Danny Wright is about to embark on his third UK headline tour in July this year, headlining shows in Glasgow, Manchester and London.

I sat down with him to discuss the tour, his inspirations and all things music.

We commence the interview sitting in a backroom of London’s O2 Academy Islington where Danny is pumped for the last date of the Alstar Live Tour. We got straight into discussing what his fans can expect from his upcoming tour this summer. “Mayhem, complete mayhem, it’s going to be very special because I’m gonna have some new songs that I’m gonna put out with I Hate Everything” he says, about his much anticipated single that comes out this week. “Before the tour starts there’s new songs coming out and we have a full band show so I’ve got a full live band that I play with on tour and it’s gonna be carnage”.

In discussing his new single I Hate Everything, Wright shares that “it’s a song that I started writing last year, I just woke up and was feeling a bit shit about myself and I picked up my guitar and started like riffing out and the first thing that came to me was just that chorus bit and I was like that actually sounds pretty cool”.
It was interesting to hear the close relationship he has with his fans when he continued with “I went on my livestream and started playing the idea to a bunch of fans who were watching and they kinda related to this subject and told me their experiences with insecurity and that feeling of self loathing and that’s what developed the song really”.

We moved on to discuss how his music journey began, “um in the womb” Wright laughed. “It’s quite a long journey really, so this point i’m at now as a solo artist started two years ago but before that I used to be in bands and I used to tour in bands and when that ended I moved to london to pursue music” Wright explains.
Wright’s edgy and Yungblud like image led me to ask about the genre of his music, “people class it as pop punk but I say pop rock to people, I’d say it’s rock but it’s weird because the way it’s delivered makes it seem like it’s poppy to a lot of people but I just say pop rock”.

Going back to the discussion of touring, I asked about the most memorable show he’d ever played, to which he replied “I did a show in glasgow a few years ago and we had a bit of a party, and I did amsterdam a couple of times, which has been really good supporting Bronnie, that was fun”. Specifically on the just finished, Alstar Live Tour, Wright expressed “I really enjoyed Newcastle actually and Nuneaton, Nuneaton was good. I really like that venue and the stage. Yeah, it’s cool there”.

After having followed Wright on Instagram previously to this interview I had noticed a number of quotes he had posted on his Instagram story which led me to ask about who or what inspires him. “Oh that’s a good question, I’ve got three big inspirations in terms of the celebrity world and that’s Tom Delonge, Jared Letto and Ricky Gervais. I love all those people for their ambitious thoughts in life, they’re all self made people”.

He continued “outside of that, I read a lot of books on self development and spirituality so i’m really into that kind of world of energy and the universe responding to your vibrations and stuff so a lot of my inspiration comes from I don’t know that kind of world of spirituality in terms of if you manifest bad things it’ll happen and if you manifest good things it’ll happen”.
Curiosity led me to ask “do you have any specific books?”.
“The Power of Now is a really good one, The Chimp Paradox is one that I’ve just finished, which is really good, I recommend that to anyone, but The Power of Now is the one that I always say first” Wright replied with a warm smile.

Finally I asked “if you could give one piece of advice to your younger self what would it be?”.
“Well the reason I do what I do is that I want to promote the thought of self belief in young people because I feel like that’s something I wanted when I was younger, so as an older person saying back to my younger self it would be believe in yourself more, but I feel like that is the message I portray anyway so everything I do is for my younger self, if that makes sense”.

Danny Wright’s new single I Hate Everything is available to preorder on Spotify now with this link: https://ffm.to/yo9ej97 and it comes out Friday 28th February.
If you want to get tickets to the I Hate Everything Tour this July you can get them here: https://www.alstarmusic.co.uk/dannywright

 

Photo Credit: https://www.instagram.com/raquia.takes.photos/

Leave a comment